Peacekeeping: November 10, 2002


West African defense chiefs meeting in Abuja, Nigeria on 6 November agreed to deploy a regional peace-keeping force in the Ivory Coast. The meeting considered force deployment proposals, during which the nine member states pledged to contribute 2,386 troops. Commitments were made by Benin, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo. Considering their earlier statements, exactly what Nigeria will add to the force remains a mystery.

The Deputy Executive Secretary of the Economic Community of West African States (Ecowas), General Cheikh Diarra told the press that initially 1,264 troops from the armies of Ghana, Senegal, Togo, Niger and Benin would be deployed. The largest number of troops will come from the former French colony Senegal. This regional peacekeeping force will back-fill the French troops already in-country and their headquarters will be in Yamoussoukro.

Britain has agreed to cover the cost of the Ghanaian contingent, while France will fund up to 600 troops. Germany, Canada and the Netherlands will provide additional support. - Adam Geibel




Help Keep Us From Drying Up

We need your help! Our subscription base has slowly been dwindling.

Each month we count on your contributions. You can support us in the following ways:

  1. Make sure you spread the word about us. Two ways to do that are to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.
  2. Subscribe to our daily newsletter. We’ll send the news to your email box, and you don’t have to come to the site unless you want to read columns or see photos.
  3. You can contribute to the health of StrategyPage.
Subscribe   Contribute   Close